

Dear Sir / Madam

You are hereby summoned to attend a meeting of Council to be held in the Municipal Offices, Promenade, Cheltenham, GL50 9SA, on **Monday, 16 May 2011** at **5.00 pm** at which meeting the following business will be transacted and any other business which may be legally transacted at such a meeting.

Councillors

Anne Regan (Chair), Barbara Driver (Vice-Chair), Garth Barnes, Ian Bickerton, Nigel Britter, Chris Coleman, Tim Cooper, Bernard Fisher, Jacky Fletcher, Wendy Flynn, Rob Garnham, Les Godwin, Penny Hall, Colin Hay, Rowena Hay, Diane Hibbert, Sandra Holliday, Peter Jeffries, Steve Jordan, Robin MacDonald, Paul Massey, Helena McCloskey, Andrew McKinlay, Heather McLain, Paul McLain, John Rawson, Diggory Seacome, Duncan Smith, Malcolm Stennett, Charles Stewart, Klara Sudbury, Lloyd Surgenor, Pat Thornton, Jon Walklett, Andrew Wall, John Webster, Paul Wheeldon, Simon Wheeler, Roger Whyborn and Jo Teakle

Agenda

- 1. PRAYERS
- 2. APOLOGIES
- 3. ELECTION OF MAYOR 2011 2012

The Mayor (Councillor Anne Regan) to call on Councillor Rob Garnham to move the motion proposing Councillor Barbara Driver as Mayor.

Councillor Rob Garnham will propose "that Councillor Barbara Driver be, and is hereby, elected Mayor of the Borough of Cheltenham and Council Chairman for the ensuing Municipal Year".

The Mayor will call upon a Councillor to formally second the motion.

The Mayor, will thereafter put to the Council the motion "that Councillor Barbara Driver be, and is hereby, elected Mayor of the Borough of Cheltenham and Council Chairman for the ensuing Municipal Year".

The Mayor will invite Councillors to give a show of hands to indicate their support.

The Mayor will congratulate Councillor Driver on her appointment and invite her to take her place in the chamber (she will still be wearing the chain until she hands it over to the new Mayor in the Town Hall ceremony).

The Chief Executive will ask the newly elected Mayor to sign a declaration of acceptance of office of Council Chairman 2011 – 2012. (This is not read out)

From this point onwards Councillor Barbara Driver will chair the meeting.

ELECTION ON DEPUTY MAYOR 2011 - 2012

The Mayor will call upon Councillor Steve Jordan to move the motion to appoint Councillor Colin Hay as Deputy Mayor.

Councillor Steve Jordan will propose "that Councillor Colin Hay be, and is hereby, elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Cheltenham and Council Vice-Chairman for the ensuing Municipal Year".

The Mayor will call upon a Councillor to formally second the motion.

The Mayor to put the motion to Council "that Councillor Colin Hay be, and is hereby, elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Cheltenham and Council Vice-Chairman for the ensuing Municipal Year".

The Mayor will invite Councillors to give a show of hands to indicate their support.

Upon being carried, the Mayor will congratulate Councillor Colin Hay on his appointment.

The Chief Executive will ask the newly elected Deputy Mayor to sign a declaration of acceptance of office of Council Vice-Chairman 2011 – 2012. (This is not read out)

5. **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

TO APPROVE AND CONFIRM THE MINUTES OF THE **MEETING HELD ON:**

(Pages 1 - 10)

28 March 2011

7. **COMMUNICATIONS BY THE MAYOR**

NOTICES OF MOTION

None received.

9. TO RECEIVE PETITIONS

10. ANY OTHER ITEM THE MAYOR DETERMINES AS **URGENT AND WHICH REQUIRES A DECISION**

2

11. CLOSE

The Mayor will remind everyone that the Inauguration of the Mayor will take place at 6.30pm in the Town Hall.

Contact Officer: Saira Malin, Democracy Officer, 01242 775153 Email: democratic.services@cheltenham.gov.uk

Andrew North Chief Executive